top of page

Back Row: L-R  Mr. O’Leary, Séan English, Jane Carroll, Claire O’Farrell, Vlada Mardari, Thea Clerkin, Cíaran Crowther, James O’Leary, Hugh St Leger, Lucinda Chong.

Middle Row: L-R  Ruth Murray, Saoirse, Kearney, Jessica Conroy, Lilian Mardari, Temidayo Sosu, JP Roche, Adam O’Dea, Laura Enright.

Front Row: L-R  Chloe Mullen, Taghg Sexton, Emily O’Connor, Ben O’Brien, Saoirse Smith.

Soon after the opening of the school, it was felt that the whole area of student responsibility needed to be addressed. A few years later, Ms. Daly and Ms. Gildea worked on this concept with a core group of students. They came to the conclusion that a Student Council should be formed for the students of ACS.

The first Student Council meeting was held in 1999, had twelve students and was led by Ms. Daly. Initial training sessions went well and a constitution was drawn up and a Council established.

Mr. O'Leary has been liaison teacher for the last 5 years now and much has been achieved in that time.  We have moved Battle of the Bands (BOB) closer to home and used last year's profits to build up our music equipment by buying two much needed monitors for the mixing desk.











Photo L-R :  Mr. O'Leary, Mr. Stewart, Mr. Ó Maitiú and Mr. O'Shea who were great sports when they took part in 'Movember'

Our charity events have been very successful and over the last three years we have raised over €3,000 for the Irish Cancer Society, through ‘Shave or Dye’ and ‘Movember’. Photo above features staff who took part in this worthy charity event.

We are looking forward to moving into our new hall for Battle of the Bands next year and have lots of ideas to help and improve the lives of the students of ACS.

Student Council AGM 2015 at Newgrange Lodge

bottom of page