GAA Review 2015-2016 

The GAA department here in ACS continues to grow and develop. This year up to 200 males and 120 females represented the school in various competitions organised by the Leinster Council and Meath County Board. 

A special thanks must be given to all our local feeder clubs in the school, the work that they have put into the coaching and development of skills in their Juvenile sections have aided the school to compete at the highest level. A special word thanks to Donaghamore/Ashbourne and Garristown for the continued use of their facilities over the last year.  

We would also like to take this opportunity to thank the local community and businesses for their continued support and generosity with your annual street collection. 


First Years 

The schools First Year boys team participated in the Meath School League and have thus far acquitted themselves very well in this competition. Winning 2 of their league games they qualified for the Semi Final against a very strong St. Pats of Navan A team. ACS made a great start to the game but some wayward shooting allowed a much more physical Pats team stay in the game. Eventually their strength around the middle of the field saw them pull away to win. Despite this loss it is clear that the conveyor belt of talent coming through shows no signs of slowing down. This years First Year footballer of the year is Diarmuid Moriarty.  


Juvenile Football

The Juvenile footballers started the year with 3 groups games against difficult opposition. We played very well winning 2 of the games allowing us to qualify for the North Leinster quarter-final. We were now in the knock out stages of the competition where every game was difficult. We won through the quarter final playing some outstanding football to get into the semi-final. Here we came up against a very strong Edenderry team, were we played some excellent football in patches, but some basic errors proved costly in the end. Edenderry would then go on to win out the Leinster Juvenile competition with ease, proving that we were very close to retaining our title from the previous season. This group of lads worked extremely hard all year. It was pleasure and a privilege to be involved with such a committed group. David Carr captained the team and was also a deserved winner of the Player of the Year award.



Boys under 16 GAA

The boys under 16 gaa team had a very successful year which ended with the  team being only a kick of a ball away from a first ever Leinster title at this age. Drawn in a tough group the team managed to top the group after 3 wins from 3 with victory's against St Peters college Dunboyne, Dunshaughlin CC and Ratoath. A home quarter final was achieved against St. Joseph's Drogheda in a game played just before Christmas. A 15 point win gave everyone confidence that this could be our year and this was further enhanced with an 8 point win over Colaiste Choilm Tullamore in the North Leinster semi final.

The North Leinster Final was an all Meath affair when Ashbourne CS came up against local rivals St Peters Dunboyne in what was a game that could have gone either way. Trailing by 7 points approaching half time the Ashbourne lads put in a huge effort in the second half to take the title on a score line of of 3-11 to 1-11.

The team had now qualified for the Leinster final against FCJ Bunclody from Wexford. Played in ideal conditions in Athy GAA grounds in south Kildare the game was won and lost on a number of occasions  before a couple of late goals saw the the Wexford team prevail. 

The final score line read Ashbourne CS 1-12 :  Bunclody 3-09.

The player of the year award was presented to Conor Cooley at the school awards night but huge praise needs to be given to all 25 members of the panel for the high level of commitment given to the team all year. 




Our senior team this year began their preparations for the Leinster championship in the second week of September. After a decent run in the League they were eventually defeated by the narrowest of margins to Oldcastle in the Semi Final. The lads continued to train hard and the commitment levels were excellent. Training before and after school twice a week and even finding themselves training in the snow and frost over Midterm and Christmas. Despite this hard work they would go down at the Quarter final stage of the Leinster Championship to St. Josephs of Drogheda. In what was a heart breaking defeat, the lads were superb from start to finish and represented the school with pride and put together our best performance of the year. In a game we dominated we just could not seem to put your domination on the field of play on the score board. The school would like to acknowledge all of the hard work and commitment that these players have put in during their time in the school and wish the lads leaving this year the best of luck in the future and hope you continue to support your old school. A special mention also to all of our squad members who were selected to represent their respective county minor and under 21 panels this year. And a huge congratulations to Conor Moriarty who helped lead his club Curragh to a Meath and Leinster Junior Club championship victory. Finally the Senior footballer of the year for 2016 and the recipient of the Liam Tolan Perpetual Trophy is the Oisin Gryson.   

U14 Panel 2015-16


Well done to our U14 Footballers who beat St. Joseph's Drogheda 4-18 to 1-6 on Friday 23rd October 2015

Last year our Under 14 team won the North Leinster and Leinster B titles in very impressive style. Sealing victory in Leinster with a comprehensive win over Scoil Éanna of Dublin. Ethan Tormey, a member of this victorious panel, had the honour of emulating his father Leon who was a member of the team in 1997 that won the schools very first Leinster title.

ACS' U16 girls footballers had a showdown with Mount Sackville to contest for the Leinster title 2014-15. On a scorching hot day at St. Brigid’s GAA Club two days after St. Patrick’s Day, the girls were ready to face their opponents. At the start of the first half the ball was moving back and forward between both teams.


Later on in the half the Ashbourne girls began to take control under the encouragement of Ms. Doherty, Orlaith Cullen Geraghty and all the supporters on the sideline. The girls began to canter on and left their Mount Sackville opponents in their mists until the final whistle.


The girls won 6-12 to 1-03 to become Leinster champions. Aoibhín Cleary earned herself the “Women of the Match” and Jennifer Dowling captained the side.